Art History & Art Conservation

DEPARTMENT OF

Art History & Art Conservation

DEPARTMENT OF

Art History & Art Conservation

site header

Faculty

Administration


Faculty Members

  • Bailey, Gauvin Alexander

    Professor and Bader Chair in Southern Baroque Art

    PhD (Harvard University)

    16th-18th century Southern and Central European arts and their international diffusion in Latin America and Asia; also the patronage of Catholic religious orders, notably the Society of Jesus (Jesuits); more recently the relationship between Rococo décor and spirituality in France, Central Europe, Iberia, and Latin America

    (613) 533 6000 x77344
    baileyg@queensu.ca

  • D'Elia, Una

    Professor

    PhD (Harvard University)

    Italian Renaissance art, with a particular interest in how people touched works of art and treated them as if they were alive, the games people played in inventing and interpreting Renaissance art, and in the relationships among art, literature, and social life.

    (613) 533 6000 x78140
    deliau@queensu.ca

  • Dickey, Stephanie

    (Sabbatical Leave, 2017-2018)

    Professor and Bader Chair in Northern Baroque Art

    Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, New York University)

    Dutch and Flemish art of the seventeenth century, especially Rembrandt and his circle, portraiture, and the history of printmaking

    (613) 533 6000 x78774
    dickeys@queensu.ca

  • du Prey, Pierre

    Professor Emeritus and Queen's Research Chair

    Ph.D. (Princeton)

    History of Architecture in the Classical Tradition in Europe and North America, Architectural Education, Architectural Books and Drawings

    pduprey@queensu.ca

  • Helland, Janice

    Professor Emerita

    Ph.D. (Victoria)

    Late 19th-century British and Irish arts and crafts, textiles, gender issues, material culture, late 19th and early 20th-century dress and fashion, craft history
    hellandj@queensu.ca

  • Hoeniger, Cathleen

    Professor and Undergraduate Chair

    Ph.D. (Princeton)

    Italian Art (Medieval and Renaissance); Cultural Heritage Preservation; War and Artistic Heritage; History of Science and Medicine (1000-1600)

    (613) 533 6000 x77346
    hoeniger@queensu.ca

  • Jessup, Lynda

    Professor

    Ph.D. (Toronto)

    Visual cultural studies, specializing in Native North American and Canadian visual culture. Focusing on art exhibitions, museums and collecting; art historiography, art in tourism, and more recently, on the role of art exhibitions in advancing Canadian foreign policy and international cultural relations

    (613) 533 6000 x75339
    lynda.jessup@queensu.ca 

  • Morehead, Allison

    Associate Professor and Graduate Chair 

    Ph.D. (Chicago)

    French, Scandinavian, and German art of the 19th and early 20th centuries; history of museums and collecting; the art of psychiatric patients; printmaking; intersections between art and science; critical theory; historiography

    (613) 533 6000 x78804
    morehead@queensu.ca

  • Reeve, Matthew

    (On Leave, Winter 2018)

    Associate Professor and Queen's National Scholar

    Ph.D. (Cambridge University)

    Medieval Art and Architecture, Medievalism in Western Art, Artistic and cultural relationships between the East and West during the Crusades; Historiography and Theory of Art History

    (613) 533 6000 x75247
    reevem@queensu.ca

  • Romba, Katherine

    Assistant Professor

    Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, NYU)

    Modern architecture, modern art, critical theory,
    anthropological theory

    (613) 533 6000 x74171
    rombak@queensu.ca

  • Russell Corbett, Jane

    Assistant Professor

    PhD (Queen's University)

    Seventeenth to nineteenth-century European art, especially genre painting; hispanicism and modernism; artistic convention.

    (613) 533-6000 x77466
    jrc@queensu.ca

  • Schwartz, Joan M.

    Professor and Head of Department

    Ph.D. (Queen's University)

    History of Photography; Nineteenth-Century Photography and the Geographical Imagination; Early Landscape / Travel Photography; Photography in Canada; The Management of Photographic Archives; Photographic Materiality and Meaning; The Photograph as Art/Fact Artifact

    (613) 533 6000 x75453
    schwartz@queensu.ca

  • Spronk, Ron

    Professor

    Ph.D. (Groningen)

    Technical Art History, Early Netherlandish Painting

    (613) 533 6000 x78288
    spronkr@queensu.ca

  • Vorano, Norman

    Assistant Professor and Queen's National Scholar

    Ph.D. (University of Rochester)

    (613) 533 6000 x77350

    norman.vorano@queensu.ca


Post-Doctoral Fellows in Art History

  • Kennedy, Jennifer

    Bader Post-Doctoral Fellow

    Modern and contemporary art; Gender and Sexuality; Art and Popular Media; Art and Social Movements; Art and Activism; Feminist Art and Theory; Critical Theory; Cultural Studies; Performance Theory; Interdisciplinary research and methodologies; Critical and creative pedagogies; Feminist pedagogy.

jk131@queensu.ca


Curatorial Adjuncts

  • Allen, Jan

    Director, Agnes Etherington Art Centre 

    Contemporary art with a concentration in Canadian art. Research areas include electronic media art, politically and socially engaged art, the exhibitionary complex and arts policy

    (613) 533 6000 x77052
    jan.allen@queensu.ca

  • Boutilier, Alicia

    Curator of Canadian Historical Art, Agnes Etherington Art Centre

    Canadian art history, particularly late 19th- and early 20th-centuries, and histories of Canadian art collecting. 

    (613) 533-6000 x77054
    alicia.boutilier@queensu.ca

  • Coutre, Jacquelyn N.

    Bader Curator and Researcher of European Art, Agnes Etherington Art Centre

    Ph.D. (Institute of Fine Arts, New York University)

    16th- and 17th-century Dutch and Flemish art, the artistic exchange between the Northern and Southern Netherlands, the mobility of European artists in the 16th and 17th centuries, Rembrandt and his circle

    (613) 533-6000 x75100
    jacquelyn.coutre@queensu.ca

  • Kerr, Sunny

    Curator of Contemporary Art, Agnes Etherington Art Centre

    (613) 533 6000 x77055
    sunny.c.kerr@queensu.ca


Cross-Appointed Faculty

  • Bevan, George

    Cross-appointed Assistant Professor
    Geography

    (613) 533 2745
    bevan@queensu.ca

  • Lord, Susan

    Cross-Appointed Faculty,
    Head of Department and Associate Professor in the Department of Film and Media.

    Cinema and media arts; cosmopolitanism; new media, gendered spaces and the city; and Cuban cinema and visual culture.  She has undertaken curatorial projects of media arts, worked with artists groups and artist-run centres for over 20 years.

    (613) 533 6000 x77019
    lords@queensu.ca

  • Robinson, Dylan

    Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Arts

    Contemporary Indigenous Art with a focus on public art, sound art, and text-based work; social arts practice; research-creation. DPhil. (University of Sussex)

    (613) 533 6000 x78144
    dylan.robinson@queensu.ca