Office of the Vice-Principal (Research)

Office of the Vice-Principal (Research)
Office of the Vice-Principal (Research)

Peer Research Consultants Program

With the goal of advancing the social sciences, humanities and arts at Queen’s University, the Office of the Vice-Principal (Research) and University Research Services established the Peer Research Consultants program (previously called the Research Mentors program). Peer Research Consultants are faculty volunteers who assist in promoting a culture of research intensity and collaboration among their colleagues. They periodically receive up-to-date research information from the Office of the Vice-Principal (Research) and University Research Services, and are well positioned to assist colleagues in cognate areas in obtaining peer reviews of research proposals and nominations for research awards.

Peer Research Consultants work closely with personnel in the Office of the Vice-Principal (Research) and University Research Services and, when possible, with their Associate Deans (Research). Several Peer Research Consultants are Associate Deans who have additional expertise and provide access to school-specific programs and resources. All faculty in the social sciences, humanities and arts are encouraged to contact Peer Research Consultants in their cognate areas when applying for research funding. Questions about the program may be directed to Karina McInnis, URS Executive Director, or to any Peer Research Consultant. The current Peer Research Consultants are:

Social Sciences
Faculty member Primary appointment Cross appointments Affiliated SSHRC Insight Grant selection committees

Yolande Chan – Associate Dean of Research and PhD/MSc Programs

ychan@queensu.ca

Smith School of Business   Committee 3A, C, D: Business Management and Related Fields

Theodore Christou – Interim Associate Graduate Studies & Research

heodore.christou@queensu.ca

Faculty of Education   Committee 5B, 5C: Education

Arthur Cockfield

art.cockfield@queensu.ca

Faculty of Law   Committee 2E: Law and Criminology

David Haglund

david.haglund@queensu.ca

Political Studies   Committee 2C, F: Political Science and Public Administration

Martin Hand

handm@queensu.ca

Sociology   Committee 4A: Sociology and Demography
Committee 4C for IDG: Sociology, Demography, Communication Studies, Journalism, Media Studies, Gender Studies, Cultural Studies, Library and Information Science, and Related Fields

Kate Harkness

harkness@queensu.ca

Psychology   Committee 5A, 5B: Psychology  

Jennifer Hosek

​jhosek@queensu.ca

Languages, Cultures    

Joshua Karton – Associate Dean (Graduate Studies & Research)

joshua.karton@queensu.ca

Faculty of Law   Committee 5A, 5B: Psychology

John McGarry

​john.mcgarry@queensu.ca

Political Studies; School of Policy Studies   Committee 2C, F: Political Science and Public Administration

Mark Sabbagh

sabbagh@queensu.ca

Psychology   Committee 5A, 5B: Psychology

Graham Whitelaw

whitelaw@queensu.ca

School of Environmental Studies; Geography and Planning   Committee 2D: Geography, Urban Planning and Related Fields
Arts and Humanities
Faculty member Primary appointment Cross appointments Affiliated SSHRC Insight Grant selection committees

Gauvin Bailey

baileyg@queensu.ca

Art History and Art Conservation   Committee 1A: History

Fabio Colivicchi

colivicf@queensu.ca

Classics   Committee 2A: Anthropology and Archaeology

Tim Fort

fortt@queensu.ca

School of Drama and Music Cultural Studies

Committee 0G: Research Creation
Committee 1D: Fine Arts

Will Kymlicka

kymlicka@queensu.ca

Philosophy Political Studies; Faculty of Law Committee 1C: Philosophy
Committee 2C, F: Political Science and Public Administration

Sam McKegney

sam.mckegney@queensu.ca

English Cultural Studies Committee 1E: Literature

Kip Pegley

pegleyk@queensu.ca

School of Drama and Music Film and Media; Gender Studies; Cultural Studies; and the Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research (CIMVHR) Committee 0G: Research Creation

Margaret Walker

mw63@queensu.ca

School of Drama and Music Cultural Studies Committee 0G: Research Creation