Queen's University

Arctic Researchers

[Shelley Arnott]

Dr. Shelley Arnott
Associate Professor, Biology
Website: http://post.queensu.ca/~arnotts/
E-mail: arnotts@queensu.ca

In my research I use empirical approaches to understand the factors that regulate the distribution and abundance of freshwater invertebrates.

[silhouette]

Dr. Tim P. Birt
Adjunct Faculty, Biology
E-mail: birtt@queensu.ca
 

[Peter Boag]

Dr. Peter Boag
Professor, Biology
Website: http://post.queensu.ca/~boagp/
E-mail: boagp@queensu.ca

My research uses genetics to examine topical issues in the ecology and behaviour of vertebrate populations, chiefly birds and mammals.

[Laura Cameron]

Dr. Laura Cameron
Associate Professor, Geography
Canada Research Chair in Historical Geographies of Nature, Tier II
Website: http://geog.queensu.ca/faculty/cameron.asp
E-mail: cameron@queensu.ca

Study of cultural encounters between peoples and places, particularly as they relate to the development of early British and Canadian ecology and conservation.

[silhouette]

Dr. John M. Casselman
Adjunct Faculty from OMNR, Glenora Fisheries Station
E-mail: casselmj@queensu.ca
 

[Duncan Cree]

Dr. Duncan Cree
Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering
Website: Aboriginal Access to Engineering Program
E-mail: creed@queensu.ca

Sustainable building materials; metal matrix composites; fibre reinforced polymer (FRP); natural fibres/bio-based polymer resin composites; Materials testing and micro-structural characterization.

[Ryan Danby]

Dr. Ryan Danby
Assistant Professor, Geography / Environmental Studies
Website: http://www.geog.queensu.ca/danby
E-mail: ryan.danby@queensu.ca

My research aims to better understand patterns and processes of vegetation change in Arctic and alpine ecosystems, especially as they relate to climate, natural disturbance, and human activities.

[Vicki Friesen]

Dr. Vicki Friesen
Professor, Biology
Website: http://post.queensu.ca/~vlf/
E-mail: vicki.friesen@queensu.ca

My research program involves using molecular genetics and bioinformatics to study mechanisms of population differentiation and speciation, primarily in birds./p>

[Sari Graben]

Dr. Sari Graben
Arctic Policy Post-Doctoral Fellow
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law
E-mail: sari.graben@queensu.ca

I am researching the relationship between scientific expertise and the efficacy of international environmental agreements in the Arctic and assisting with the organization of the International Polar Year 2012 Conference: From Knowledge to Action.

[Michael Green]

Dr. Michael Green
Associate Professor, Aboriginal Health
Website: http://chspr.queensu.ca/directory/green.php
E-mail: mg13@queensu.ca

[Paul Grogan]

Dr. Paul Grogan
Associate Professor, Biology
Website: http://post.queensu.ca/~groganp/
E-mail: groganp@queensu.ca

I am an ecologist who is particularly interested in evaluating the physical, chemical and biological controls that regulate biogeochemical cycling in terrestrial ecosystems.

[Peter Harrison]

Dr. Peter Harrison
Professor, School of Policy Studies
Website: http://queensu.ca/sps/people/faculty/harrisonp.html
E-mail: peter.harrison@queensu.ca

Ocean and coastal management with particular reference to the Arctic Ocean and Arctic policy.

[Heather Jamieson]

Dr. Heather Jamieson
Professor, Environmental Studies
Website: http://geol.queensu.ca/people/jamieson/
E-mail: : jamieson@geol.queensu.ca

The primary focus of my recent research has been the combination of microanalysis of metal-bearing minerals in mine waste, contaminated soils, sediments and dust with speciation analysis of co-existing waters to understand mineral-water interaction.

[Kurtis Kyser]

Dr. Kurtis Kyser
Professor, Environmental Studies
Website: http://geol.queensu.ca/isotope_lab/
E-mail: kyser@geol.queensu.ca

Isotope geochemistry, origin and chemical evolution of the earth, mass spectroscopy, evolution of fluids in basins, low-temperature geochemistry, geochronology, environmental geochemistry, fluid-rock interactions./p>

[Melissa Lafreniere]

Dr. Melissa Lafrenière
Assistant Professor, Geography
Website: http://geog.queensu.ca/Lafreniere/
E-mail: melissa.lafreniere@queensu.ca

My research interests lie in the area of climate change and human impacts on the hydrology and biogeochemistry of alpine and arctic environments.

[Scott Lamoureux]

Dr. Scott Lamoureux
Associate Professor, Geography
Website: http://geog.queensu.ca/evex
E-mail: scott.lamoureux@queensu.ca

My research is focused on understanding the linkages between climate, hydrology and geomorphology in permafrost and landscapes.

[Warren Mabee]

Dr. Warren Mabee
Assistant Professor, School of Policy Studies / Geography
Director, Queen's Institute for Energy & Environmental Policy (QIEEP) and the Sustainable Bioeconomy Centre (SBC)
Website: http://www.qieep.ca/warren-e-mabee/
E-mail: mabeew@queensu.ca

Renewable energy (bioenergy and energy from forests), policy and technology related to environment and energy, environmental policy.

[Ken Reimer]

Dr. Kenneth J. (Ken) Reimer
Professor, School of Environmental Studies, Queen's University and Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Royal Military College of Canada
E-mail: reimer-k@rmc.ca

Environmental assessment of northern and remote sites, ecological and human health risk assessment and risk communication, development and implementation of innovative remediation approaches at contaminated sites. Working in partnership with Inuit.

[Kerry Rowe]

Dr. Kerry Rowe
Professor, Civil Engineering
Website: http://www.civil.queensu.ca/Research/Environmental/R-Kerry-Rowe/
E-mail: kerry@civil.queensu.ca

Research Interests: Contaminant migration; landfill design; geosynthetics; reinforced embankments and walls; tunnels in soft ground; anchors, retaining walls and pile foundations.

[Allison Rutter]

Dr. Allison Rutter
Director of the Analytical Services Unit
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biology
Website: http://www.queensu.ca/asu/
E-mail: ruttera@queensu.ca

Queen's ASU is an environmental analytical laboratory that has providedanalytical services at Queen's University and to government and industrial groups for over 25 years. We have worked on a wide variety of environmental projects and specialize in remediation in the Arctic, and on-site laboratories in remote sites

[Neal Scott]

Dr. Neal Scott
Associate Professor, Geography
Website: http://geog.queensu.ca/Scott/index.htm
E-mail: neal.scott@queensu.ca

My research program strives to increase our understanding of the processes controlling carbon and nitrogen cycling in terrestrial ecosystems, how these processes influence the climate system, and the effects of human-induced disturbances.

[John Smol]

Dr. John Smol
Professor, Biology
Website: http://post.queensu.ca/~pearl/
E-mail: smolj@queensu.ca

The research in my lab focuses on the study of the complex interactions between a lake's biota and the environment.

[Paul Treitz]

Dr. Paul Treitz
Professor and Department Head, Geography
Director, Laboratory for Remote Sensing of Earth and Environmental Systems (LaRSEES)
Website: http://geog.queensu.ca/faculty/treitz.asp
Lab website: http://www.geog.queensu.ca/larsees/
E-mail: paul.treitz@queensu.ca

My research focus, and that of my students, is on the application of remote sensing data for estimating biophysical variables of arctic and boreal ecosystems.

[Peter J. Van Coeverden de Groot]

Dr. Peter J. Van Coeverden de Groot
Research Scientist, Biology
E-mail: degrootp@queensu.ca

I investigate non invasive methods to monitor polar bears. This includes marrying the traditional ecological knowledge (TEK) of the Inuit and new genetic ways to determine sex, identity and health of wild bears from their hairs and faeces.

[Mark Vardy]

Mark Vardy
Ph.D. Candidate, Sociology
E-mail: mark.vardy@queensu.ca

My dissertation, Knowledge, Action and the Changing Arctic Environment, explores the ways in which environmental changes in the Arctic are becoming known and acted upon.

[Virginia Walker]

Dr. Virginia Walker
Professor, Biology
Website: http://www.queensu.ca/biology/people/faculty/walker.html
E-mail: walkervk@gueensu.ca

Our research interests all concern stress genes and the molecular basis of resistance

[Graham Whitelaw]

Dr. Graham Whitelaw
Professor, School of Urban and Regional Planning
Website: http://www.queensu.ca/surp/node/124
E-mail: whitelaw@queensu.ca

My research interests are focused on environmental assessment, land use planning, community based and multi-party monitoring and First Nations.

[Karen Yeates]

Dr. Karen Yeates
Assistant Professor, Nephrology
E-mail: yeatesk@queensu.ca

[Barbara Zeeb]

Dr. Barbara A. Zeeb
Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
E-mail: zeeb-b@rmc.ca

Research Interests: Paleolimnology, Phytoremediation and DDT in the Food Chain

[building photo]

Four Directions Aboriginal Student Centre
Website: http://www.queensu.ca/fdasc/
E-mail: 4direct@queensu.ca

We are committed to enhancing the development and well-being of the Queen's Aboriginal Community.