The position of Rector is unique to Queen's among all Canadian universities.

Traditionally, the four ancient Scottish universities had Rectors whose duties have not changed much since the position was created in the fifteenth century. Those universities are Edinburgh, Glasgow, St. Andrews and Aberdeen.

The Rector tradition was passed to us at Queen's from our sister university, the University of Edinburgh, with the first Rector taking office in 1913. The Rector of Queen's is the third officer of the University, after the Chancellor and Principal.

The primary function of the Rector is to represent students on the Board of Trustees, although many Rectors have used the office in a more informal way to help students with administrative problems, providing information and advice. The Rector also has certain ceremonial responsibilities, the most important of which is to join the Chancellor and the Principal on the dais at Convocations. The rector is frequently called upon to represent students on University committees such as those which select the Principal and honorary degree recipients. The Rector has always been elected by students to a three-year term, but until 1969 no students were chosen; instead, the Rector tended to be some prominent friend of Queen's, such as the senior public servant O.D. Skelton (1929-1935), former Prime Minister R.B. Bennett (1935-1937), and the businessman and chair of the CBC, Leonard Brockington (1947-1968). In 1969, students in that age of activism forced the resignation of the Rector, Senator Grattan O'Leary, and students have been elected to the post ever since.

Symbols of the Rector

In December 2003, the Rector's Badge was designed by Mr. Gordon MacPherson. The concept for the Badge was developed by Queen's alumnus the Honourable John R. Matheson, who oversaw the creation of the Canadian flag and served as long term member of the University's Board of Trustees, and Rector Ahmed Kayssi. The motto reads: "Princeps Servusque Es," or "Be a Leader and a Servant" and was inspired by the legendary Queen's Principal George Monro Grant, who said: "If you can become at once the servant and the leader of [others], then you will show what Queen's has done for you." The Latin translation of the motto was provided by Mr. Sean M. Rodgers, Artsci '04.

The puma in the centre is the Rector's puma, a tradition started by Rector Michael Kealy and passed on to subsequent Rectors as a symbol of the office. The crown is the ancient Queen's crown. The scales signify the Rector's role as an ombudsperson for students. The belt and buckle signify the Scottish origin of the rectorship, while the maple leaf signifies the Canadian identity of the office. The red, gold, and blue in the Badge are the official colours of Queen's.

Past Rectors

  • 1. 1913 The Reverend S.W. Dyde
  • 2. 1916 James L. Robertson
  • 3. 1920 Brigadier General A.E. Ross
  • 4. 1925 William H. Coverdale
  • 5. 1929 Oscar D. Skelton
  • 6. 1935 The Right Honourable R.B. Bennett
  • 7. 1937 The Honourable Norman McLeod Rogers
  • 8. 1940 The Earl of Athlone
  • 9. 1944 B.K. Sandwell
  • 10. 1947 Leonard W. Brockington
  • 11. 1968 The Honourable M. Grattan O'Leary
  • 12. 1969 Richard Alan Broadbent *
  • 13. 1972 Gary Michael Gannage
  • 14. 1974 Bruce W. Trotter
  • 15. 1976 Morris Chochla
  • 16. 1978 Hugh Christie
  • 17. 1980 Jeremy Freedman
  • 18. 1982 James Harris
  • 19. 1984 Richard Powers
  • 20. 1986 Kelley McKinnon
  • 21. 1988 Charis Kelso
  • 22. 1990 Antoinette Mongillo
  • 23. 1992 David Baar
  • 24. 1994 Peter Gallant
  • 25. 1996 Ian Michael
  • 26. 1998 Michael Kealy
  • 27. 2000 Daniel Sahl
  • 28. 2002 Ahmed "KC" Kayssi
  • 29. 2004 Grant R.A. Bishop
  • 30. 2006 Johsa Marie G. Manzanilla
  • 31. 2008 Leora Jackson
  • 32. 2010 Nick Day
  • 33. 2011 Nick Francis
  • 34. 2014 Mike Young