Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Matariki Network of Universities (MNU)

Queen's is one of the seven founding members of the Matariki Network of Universities, whose official launch took place in May 2010.

The MNU is an international network of leading universities with a distinctive ethos and three primary characteristics in common:

  • Strong links between research and undergraduate teaching;
  • A rich learning environment, in which cultural and sporting activities, as well as social and community endeavours, feature alongside academic learning;
  • Strong commitment to social and global responsibility.

The Matariki Network of Universities is restricted to a single representative per country and aspires to grow to a maximum of 12 members. The founding members are:

  • Australia: University of Western Australia, Perth
  • Germany: Tubingen University
  • Sweden: Uppsala University
  • USA: Dartmouth College, New Hampshire
  • Canada: Queen's University, Kingston
  • New Zealand: University of Otago, Dunedin
  • UK: Durham University

Queen's participation in the MNU builds on our longstanding partnerships and agreements with Uppsala University (1993), the University of Western Australia (1994) and the University of Otago (2002).

The name "Matariki" is from the Māori language, in which Matariki is the name of the Pleiades star cluster, and signifies Spring and a new beginning.

For more information, please visit Matariki Network of Universities.             



Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000