Queen's University

For the Record: February 28, 2011

Mon, 02/28/2011

Awards and Grants

Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision call for nominations

The deadline for nominations for the Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision is Friday, April 29 at 4:30 pm.

The School of Graduate Studies (SGS) provides this award to recognize those outstanding supervisors who demonstrate excellence in advising, monitoring and mentoring graduate students through their training. Excellence is judged on the quality of supervision and mentorship in facilitating the acquisition of skills and resources needed for the student to succeed as scholars and professionals.

Complete details and a nomination form can be found on the SGS website.

The Brockington Visitorship

The Senate Committee on Creative Arts and Public Lectures invites nominations for the Brockington Visitorship. The terms of reference are “to invite a person of international distinction to come to Queen’s University to deliver a public lecture and to meet formally and informally with faculty and students.” ONLINE Proposals will be accepted for up to $7,000. Details can be found online. Deadline: March 31.

The Chancellor Dunning Trust

The Senate Committee on Creative Arts and Public Lectures invites nominations for the Chancellor Dunning Trust Lecture. The terms of reference are “to identify and invite a person of distinction to be the Chancellor Dunning Trust Lecturer. The Chancellor Dunning Lecturer will be expected to deliver a public lecture that promotes the understanding and appreciation of the supreme importance of the dignity, freedom and responsibility of the individual person in human society.” ONLINE Proposals will be accepted for up to $16,000. Details can be found online. Deadline: March 31.

George Taylor Richardson Memorial Fund

This fund provides grants to support public performances and exhibitions for the benefit of the Queen’s and broader Kingston communities. ONLINE Applications are welcome from Queen’s community members. Course-related activities and projects that focus on research, composition, creation or production do not qualify for support. Details can be found online. Deadline: March 31.

Nominations open for Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching

Nominations are open for the Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching, given each year by the Queen’s University Alumni Association. The $5,000 award recognizes Queen's professors who "show outstanding knowledge, teaching ability, and accessibility to students." Students, faculty, staff and alumni are invited to submit nominations. Deadline is February 25. More information is available online.


Gender Studies headship announcement

Bev Baines’ term as head of the Department of Gender Studies is scheduled to end on December 31, 2011. Principal Daniel Woolf has appointed a selection committee to advise him on the appointment of the next head. The selection committee has the following membership:

Elected members

Annette Burfoot, associate professor
Margaret Little, professor
Margo Rivera, adjunct assistant professor
Jill Scott, associate professor
Susan Wilcox, associate professor

Appointed members

Auden Neuman, graduate student
Thea Schmalenberger, undergraduate student
Terrie Easter Sheen, administrative assistant
Barrington Walker, cognate faculty, associate professor, Department of History

Non-voting members

Alistair MacLean, dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
David Rappaport, associate dean, School of Graduate Studies


Jim Lee Associate, dean (Research), Faculty of Arts and Science

Recording secretary

Diane Reid, Faculty of Arts and Science

Pursuant to Articles 41.3 and 41.3.5 of the Collective Agreement between Queen’s University Faculty Association and Queen’s University at Kingston, comments on the present state and future prospects of the Department of Gender Studies can be submitted by March 10, 2011. You are also asked to submit names of possible candidates for the headship.

Please send all comments to the attention of Ms Reid. All letters will be reviewed by the selection committee and will become part of the record of decision-making. At the request of either the department members or the selection committee, a meeting can be arranged between the department and the committee to ascertain department members’ views on the qualities required in a head. Once a short list has been established, it will be distributed to members of the department for further input on the merits of the respective candidate(s).

Human Resources


If you have a milestone of five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40 years or more of continuous service coming up and you do NOT wish your name to be included in the listing, please contact Faye Baudoux at ext. 77791.

Congratulations to those who reached the following milestones in February.

Forty years: Rita I Foley, Office of the University Registrar; Karen Jean Merrill, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science; Carol Noel, Biology. 

Twenty-five years: Annette Brick, Continuing and Distance Studies; Kevin David Jackson, Postal Services; Jane E Rogers, Financial Services.

Fifteen years: Djenana Jalovcic, ICACBR; Sheri Wilson, School of Music.

Ten years: Tammy Babcock, Campus Security; Robert Eves, Biochemistry; M Marleine Kish, Financial Services; Sara A Montgomery, Institutional Research and Planning; Patrick Patterson, Learning & Research Services.

Five Years: Erin Bell, Clinical Trials Group (NCIC); Shailesh Dubey, School of Business; Nicole L A Godfrey, Medicine; Linda Heyman, Office of the University Registrar; Stephanie D Jesshope, Clinical Trials Group (NCIC); Al T Le, Clinical Trials Group (NCIC); Shannon K McFadden, Human Resources; Amanda L Posadowski, School of Kinesiology and Health Studies; David B Young, Alumni Relations & Annual Giving.


Copyright © Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000
Last updated at 3:38 pm EDT, Mon September 1, 2014
iTunes is a trademark of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.