Lync is available to all students, staff and faculty. It has great potential as a communication tool across the campus and beyond. To make it available to everyone on campus, a default environment has been configured. Your presence status will be based on your Microsoft Outlook Calendar or your Lync activities. For example, if you have a meeting scheduled in Outlook, your Lync status appears as not available.
Your presence information is information about you. At Queen's your presence information is turned on so others can see it. Anyone at Queen's can see your presence. How much of your presence is seen is controlled by you through Privacy Relationships and you can control what your status, notes and location say.
Your Presence includes:
Privacy Relationships are used to control how much of your presence (personal information) others can see. There are five privacy relationships, and each relationship gives access to different amounts of information.
The Privacy Relationship for a contact by default is set to Colleagues. To view the Privacy Relationship for a contact:
Note: You can arrange your contacts in groups, but the groups do not determine what Privacy Relationship is assigned to a contact. For example, if you add a contact to Friends and Family, they will still have the default Privacy Relationship of Colleagues. To change the Privacy Relationship, right mouse click on the contact and select Friends and Family.
When you log in to Lync, beneath your name and availability there is a drop down menu for Set Your Location. Click the down arrow and you will see is a check beside Show Others My Location. If you do not want others to see you location, click to uncheck. Now there will be a red circle with a line through it indicating that your location is not available.
If you want others to see your location, click on this field to enter your current location. For example, "Office" or "Home." If you use Lync in multiple locations, you can set a different location for each place. Lync will remember the network on which you created the location and use it next time you sign in. So when you work from home, "Home" would appear; if you were working from the office, "Office" would appear.