Principal's Implementation Committee on Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion

Queen's University
Search Type


Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion

site header

Principal’s Implementation Committee on Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion

In an effort to initiate a broad, meaningful, and sustained conversation on racism, diversity, and inclusion at Queen’s, and to ensure that tangible and lasting change is effected, Principal Daniel Woolf has established a small group, which comprises faculty, students, and staff, to review past reports on these issues. The committee will identify barriers to these recommendations, and the steps needed to remove these barriers, so that real change can take place. The Principal’s Implementation Committee on Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion began its work in early January.

Committee members

The six-member committee comprises two faculty, two staff members, and two students. The Senate selected three members, one from each group. They were not required to be members of Senate. The principal appointed the remaining members, after Senate’s selections were finalized, keeping in mind the diversity of the group as a whole.

  • Dev Aransevia (Artsci’17), fourth-year Global Development Studies student
  • Yolande Chan, faculty member in the Smith School of Business
  • Hana Chaudhury, fourth-year student in Commerce and Prospective Double Degree in Life Sciences
  • Laeeque Daneshmend, faculty member in the Robert M. Buchan Department of Mining Engineering, cross-appointed to the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
  • Nilani Loganathan, staff member in the Business Career Centre in Smith School of Business
  • Tim Tang, staff member in the Office of Advancement
[committee members]

Top (l-r): Dev Aransevia, staff member Rosie LaLande (Executive Assistant to the Principal and committee secretary), Tim Tang, Professor Laeeque Daneshmend. Bottom (l-r): Professor Yolande Chan, Nilani Loganathan, Hana Chaudhury.


  • Dan Bradshaw, Associate Vice-Principal, Human Resources
  • Sue Fostaty Young, Educational Developer and Program Manager, Centre for Teaching and Learning
  • Mark Green, Professor, Civil Engineering, and Indigenous representative (TRC Task Force Co-Chair)
  • Lon Knox, Secretary of the University and Corporate Counsel
  • Wanda Praamsma, Senior Communications Officer, University Relations
  • Teri Shearer, Deputy Provost
  • Stephanie Simpson, Director, Human Rights Office
  • Cameron Yung, Rector

Timeline and outcomes

The committee will submit to the principal, no later than March 31, 2017, a final list of actions to be implemented that identifies priorities, suggested timelines, and measures to evaluate the success of implementation.