Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University
 

Cell and Molecular Biology

The Cell and Molecular Biology group focuses on eukaryotic organisms with an interest in developmental and biochemical problems. Model systems (e.g. yeast, C. elegans, Drosophila, Arabidopsis) offer powerful molecular genetic methodology and genomics tools to study fundamental cellular functions such as signal transduction, cellular metabolism, and cell cycle regulation. In addition, studies on model organisms like Drosophila and Caenorhabditis concentrate on the regulation of gene expression during development using leading-edge molecular techniques. These projects complement research efforts within the Biology Department, particularly those from the physiology group, and within the Faculties of Medicine and Engineering.

  Faculty Member Research Interest  email
 Bendena.jpg

 

 

William G. Bendena

 

 

Insect biology and biochemistry

 

 

bendenaw@queensu.ca

 Boag.jpg

 

 

Peter T. Boag

 

 

Molecular ecology

 

 

boagp@queensu.ca

 

 Chin-Sang.jpg

 

 Ian Chin-Sang

 

 Processes of morphogenesis

 

 chinsang@queensu.ca

Friesen.jpg

 

 Victoria Friesen

 

 Molecular ecology & evolution

 

 vlf@queensu.ca

 hawryshyn2.jpg

 

Craig W. Hawryshyn

 

 

Neurobiology and behaviour

 

 

 

craig.hawryshyn@queensu.ca

 Ko.jpg

 

 

Kenton Ko

 

 

Rhomboid proteins, protein transport and functional proteomics

 

 

kok@queensu.ca

 Moyes.jpg

 

Christopher D. Moyes

 

 Molecular physiology

 

 chris.moyes@queensu.ca

 plaxton.jpg

 

William C. Plaxton

 

Plant biochemistry, metabolic 

regulation and proteomics

 

plaxton@queensu.ca

 Regan

 

Sharon Regan

 

Molecular control of plant development

 

regans@queensu.ca

 Seroude.gif

 

 

 Laurant Seroude

 

 

 Molecular genetics of aging

 

 

 

 

 seroudel@queensu.ca

 snedden.gif

 

 

Wayne A. Snedden

 

 

Plant molecular biology &

signal transduction

 

 

sneddenw@queensu.ca

 Walker.jpg

 

 

Virginia K. Walker

 

 

Genetics and molecular biology

of insect development

 

 

walkervk@queensu.ca

 young.jpg

 

 

Paul G. Young

 

 

Cell cycle genetics and

molecular biology

 

 

youngpg@queensu.ca

 

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000