Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching, initiated in 1975, is Queen's first campus-wide teaching honour. Established at the urging of students, the $5,000 award recognized Queen's teachers who "show outstanding knowledge, teaching ability, and accessibility to students". The deadline for the 2014 Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching is the last Friday in February.


[Photo of Jacqueline Davies]2015 recipient
Jacqueline Davies
Department of Philosophy

Dr. Davies will be presented with the Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching at the QUAA Gala Awards Dinner on Saturday, April 2, 2016.





Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2014 Catherine Donnelly, School of Rehabilitation Therapy
2013 Daniel Lefebvre, Department of Biology
2012 James Fraser, Department of Physics, Engineering Physics and Astronomy
2011 George Bevan, Department of Classics
2010 David Strong, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, Integrated Learning Centre
2009 Les MacKenzie, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology 
2008 John Hanes, Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering
2007 Patrick Oosthuizen, Mechanical and Materials Engineering
2006 Richard Jackson, School of Business
2005 Bruce Tufts, Department of Biology
2004 Donato Santeramo, Department of Italian and Spanish
2003 Bill Newstead, Department of Chemistry
2002 Richard Ascough, Department of Theology
2001 Jim Whitley, Department of Mathematics and Statistics (deceased)
2000 Leo Jonker, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
1999 Terry Krupa, Faculty of Health Sciences
1998 Lynda Jessup, Department of Art
1997 Paul K. Christianson, Department of History
1996 W. Alan Gorman, Geological Sciences (deceased)
1995 Joan E. McDuff, Faculty of Education
1994 Virginia Walker, Department of Biology
1993 Barrie Frost, Department of Psychology
1992 Katherine Wynne-Edwards, Department of Biology
1991 Robert E. Hawkins, Faculty of Law
1990 Patrick J. O'Neill, Department of German
1989 David H. Turpin, Department of Biology
Sandra L. McBride, Department of Geological Sciences
Alistair W. MacLean, Department of Psychology
Rita Maloney, School of Nursing
Frank D. Collom, School of Business (deceased)
Stanley Sadinsky, Faculty of Law
Caroline M. Miller, Department of Sociology
Frederick W. Gibson, Department of History (deceased)
Robert G. Crawford, Computing & Information Science
Gerald S. Marks, Pharmacology and Toxicology (deceased)
Josephine M. Reddick, School of Nursing
Colette Y. Tonge, Department of French (deceased)
D. Catherine Brown, Department of History (deceased)
1982 Ronald J. Delisle, Faculty of Law (deceased)
1981 William T. Cannon, School of Business
1980 David J. Mullan, Faculty of Law
1979 William C. Reeve, Department of German
1978 Catherine R. Harland, Department of English
1977 Alastair R. C. Duncan, Department of Philosophy (deceased)
1976 H. R. Stuart Ryan, Faculty of Law (deceased)
1975 William D. Gilbert, Department of Mechanical Engineering (deceased)

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000

For general inquiries about Office of Advancement events and programs, please call our Contact Centre at 1-800-267-7837 (toll free in Canada or the US), or 613-533-2060.