Please enable javascript to view this page in its intended format.

Queen's University

The Johnson Award

The Johnson Award pays tribute to lifelong contributors to Queen’s University, the Alumni Association, and the Calgary community. It is named after Ernie and Edna Johnson, whose generosity and dedication to their alma mater and community span more than 30 years. The Johnson Award will proudly carry Ernie and Edna's name and spirit for future generations of remarkable Queen's alumni in Calgary.  

Learn more about Ernie and Edna Johnson.

To nominate someone for the Johnson Award please fill out the nomination form. Nominations are due February 5. 


[Photo of Mike Rose & Sue Riddell Rose]2013 Recipients, 
Mike Rose, Artsci'79 and
Sue Riddell Rose, Sc'86

The Calgary Branch and the Queen’s University Alumni Association are proud to announce Michael Rose, Artsci’79, and Susan Riddell-Rose, Sc’86, as this year's recipients of the Johnson Award. Mike and Sue are being recognized for their distinguished careers in the oil and gas sector, as well as their numerous contributions to Queen’s University, the Alumni Association, and the Calgary community. Mike and Sue are outstanding Queen’s alumni, citizens, role models and are truly worthy recipients of the 2013 Johnson Award. Congratulations Mike and Sue!





Past Recipients

Year Recipient
2012 R. Bruce McFarlane, BA/PHE'78 and Dr. Janice Heard, BSc/BPHE'80
2011 Roger Smith, Sc'72, MSc'78, and Lorna Smith, Arts'69, MA'72, Ed'73
2010 Barry Stewart, Sc'64
2009  Neil McCrank, Sc'66, Law'69 
2008  Kim Sturgess, Sc'77 
2007  Jim Dinning, Com'74, MPA'77


Kathleen Sendall, Sc'77


Grant Bartlett


Ruben Nelson, Arts'61


Michael O'Connor, Sc'68, PhD'76, DSc'92


George Watson, Sc'70, MBA'72


Ernie Johnson, MD'38 (deceased) and Edna Johnson

Kingston, Ontario, Canada. K7L 3N6. 613.533.2000

For general inquiries about Office of Advancement events and programs, please call our Contact Centre at 1-800-267-7837 (toll free in Canada or the US), or 613-533-2060.